Publishing…

Standard

I knew it could happen sooner or later. And it did. A publisher has approached me and asked specifically for The Amazons Rise Up, a tale about a group of women who come together and form the colony on Orcus out in the Kuiper Belt. I wasn’t sure what to think at first.

So I checked out the website first. Inkitt and publishing info My impression was that it sounded geared towards helping writers out. But it sounded a little too good to be true. I suspected there had to be some kind of price involved.

And there is. They claim that in order for them to fully promote a book they need the full exclusive rights to it. Well, I don’t do deals like that. Sure they offer editing and book cover design, but those are things I’ve been doing myself for quite some time now.

I like to have full and complete creative control over my books. I am a graphic designer as well as a writer. I didn’t spend all that time and energy learning graphic design to had it over to someone else for what? So they can possibly make my book like others which are in the mainstream?

I’d consider it if they wanted to promote just a printed version. Then I could keep selling the ebook version without messing anything up for me and the universe I’ve been building for my characters. But that’s not the deal.

The only other thing that bothers me is that they used the term, ’emerging writers’. As far as I understand that term, it refers to writers who are going mainstream and are only in their 20s. I am no longer in my 20s, so they shouldn’t be talking to me unless they are willing to eliminate the age from the definition.

I know how strange and usual my work is. So was Philip K. Dick’s work. I know he did have some trouble with publishers, but his work is still read today. I have had trouble with traditional publishers. It’s clear that they hate me, but they can’t do anything for me that I don’t already do for myself. So it’s no big deal that they don’t publish my work.

Inkitt is using a different approach from the traditional publishers. They do find the audience before they invest in the book. They’ve been in the business for about a year now… So, it’s too early to say how well this new approach will work for them and the books they publish.

So, I take it as a compliment that they are interested in one of my books. I will just say, ‘no, thank you, I will continue to be self published.’

3 thoughts on “Publishing…

  1. Hi Ali,

    this is Ali, founder and CEO of Inkitt. I came across your blog post and thought I’d say hi and answer some of your questions – but firstly a big congratulations on your book!

    In terms of book covers, we work hand in hand with our authors and graphic designers to reach a final result that the author is happy with and the creative control is completely in the author’s hands.

    Regarding the term ’emerging’, we simply mean writers who have not yet had a breakthrough, it’s not at all connected to age. We have published 15 authors so far of varying ages and it was a pleasure to work with all of them.
    I actually wrote a blog post outlining the steps that go into our publishing process, perhaps you’d like to have a look: https://www.inkitt.com/blog/how-inkitt-publishes-your-books-from-preparation-to-promotion/

    If you have any questions at all, don’t hesitate to shoot me an email at ali@inkitt.com.

    Best,
    Ali

    Like

    • I appreciate your response to my post. I’m more clear on what you mean by ’emerging,’ and how you work with the authors. However, I do like to have full and complete creative control over my work. I’ll remain self published so I can continue to build up my universe without having to worry about things like book contracts and how those could mess up my work as it grows and blossoms over the years.

      Like

Leave a Reply

